0%

WIFI - 无缝漫游

征 途
家里户型比较怪,路由器的位置比较偏,所以有些地方wifi无法覆盖到,就想再加一个WIFI路由器来实现无缝漫游。本文为折腾时所学到的知识点。

背景知识点

802.11 k802.11v802.11r 相结合,可以使终端与AP 设备充分利用已建立的行业标准来改进用户的漫游体验。

802.11k/v/r 协议是软件实现的,不涉及硬件,所以同时需要 AP 和终端两者的支持。

  • 优点:不要换硬件,只需要更新软件即可实现,成本低
  • 缺点:各个设备对协议的支持程度不同,造成漫游效果各不相同。

802.11 k (邻居报表)

支持 802.11k 的 APs 能够向终端设备提供一个包含相邻可用 APs 信息 的报表,以便终端设备更好地了解其周围的 APs。终端设备可以通过它缩短寻找可用相邻 APs 的时间。

802.11v (BSS 转换管理框架)

支持 802.11v 的 APs 为终端设备提供另一个它认为可以提供更好 WLAN 体验的 AP。最终终端设备决定是否跳转至此AP。

802.11r (快速 BSS 转换)

802.11r (Fast BSS Transition) 定义了 STA 在同一移动域 (MD) 中的不同 AP 之间漫游时的交互细则,提供了实现 BSS 快速切换的标准。802.11r 快速漫游实现方法为:

  1. STA 首次关联 MD 内的 AP 时,利用 802.1x 认证获得的主会话密钥(MSK,由于该密钥为认证者和申请者共享,也称为成对主密钥PMK)和 MD 内各个 AP 的 R1KH_ID 计算出不同的 PMK_R1 分发给 MD 内的其它 AP;
  2. STA 切换 AP 时,STA 直接利用之前发送到目标 AP 上的 PMK_R1 协商出成对临时密钥(PTK)和组临时密钥(GTK),以此缩短漫游切换时间,避免再重复进行耗时的 802.1x 认证。

802.11r协议主要描述了四个部分的内容:密钥管理、FT初始化关联、快速切换和新增的信息元素。

漫游方案

有 AC + AP 方案,还有最近炒得火热的 Mesh 方案。

AC + AP 漫游方案

此方案依赖 AC 控制器。

低端的AC/AP方案,采用剔除模式来进行漫游。即AC为AP下发功率/信道/密码 等等参数后,主动剔除某AP下信号弱的终端,以强迫终端重新寻找 AP。

  • 优点:在 APs 的覆盖范围内,不用等终端或用户主动去切换信号好的 AP。终端设备无论走到哪都可以连接在信号质量最好的 AP 下。
  • 缺点:造成终端的短暂断网。

高端的 AC/AP 方案,除了剔除模式,还有负载均衡、802.11 k/v/r 协议等等,以使终端在切换 AP 的过程中不断网。价格十分昂贵。

Mesh

802.11 k/v/r 协议的基础上,加上自动化部署 APs 来实现的无缝漫游。
优势是组网和部署更灵活,即可用无线回程,也能插网线做有线回程。
缺点是不同的终端漫游效果不同,如 iPhone 完整的实现的802.11 k/v/r,所以它漫游效果最好。而 Android 手机版本太多,有的完全不支持 802.11 k/v/r 协议,有的只支持部分协议,所以有的手机漫游效果差有的手机漫游效果好。

现在的 Mesh 路由器一般都有一个主一个副,主路由具备一些AC的功能,通过特定协议来为副路由推送 WLAN 相关参数,免去手动配置副路由的步骤。

高通 - 芯片厂家

高通推出的 Wi-Fi SON 概念,就是利用 802.11 k/v/r 来实现漫游的。

所以只要是高通方案的路由器,厂商购买了高通的漫游版权,都可利用 802.11 k/v/r 来实现无缝漫游。

如 网件R7800,为高通方案的路由器。它支持 802.11 k/v
两台原厂固件的 R7800 ,一台做路由器,另一台开启 AP 模式,Wifi 设置为相同的参数,两台都在 “路由地址/debug.htm” 勾选802.11k,就可以开启无缝漫游模式了;或者其它路由器做主路由并关闭WIFI,两台R7800开启 AP模式并打开 802.11k,也可实现无缝漫游。
如下图:
R7800 Roaming

华硕ACRH17,Linksys(领势) 的EA7500/EA8300/EA9000 等高通方案的路由器,在原厂固件下,都可以实现无缝漫游。

无缝漫游经验总结

  1. 合理的射频规划和布局是无缝漫游的第一要素。保证信号的连续覆盖,重叠区域的设计能适应移动设备的漫游阈值,相邻AP信道要错开等等。
  2. 802.11 k/v 主要应用在商用大规模部署的场景,802.11r 也只是对 802.1x 认证的企业网络效果比较显著,家用场景的 PSK 认证速度本来就很快,所以只要做好了合理布局与规划,漫游切换基本就不会掉线了,如果再支持802.11r,漫游切换过程基本就无感知了。
  3. 终端设备对 802.11 k/v/r 的支持
    • iOS 设备触发漫游的阈值为 -70dbm,信号强度大于 -65dbm 时,优先连接5G频段。
      在决定漫游目标AP时,如果当前有数据传输,选择信号强度比当前AP高8dbm的AP,如果当前没有数据传输,选择高12dbm的AP。
    • iPhone 4s及以后的设备支持 802.11 k/r,iPhone 5s及以后的设备支持 802.11v
    • macOS不支持802.11 k/r
    • Windows 10在硬件允许的条件下支持802.11 k/v,在 802.1x 认证网络中支持 802.11r
    • 三星自 Note8 开始支持 802.11 k/v/r
    • 国产的手机未知。
  4. OpenWrt 开启 802.11r 只需设置802.11r Fast Transition这一个选项,其他不用动。
    在PSK认证的网络中,ft_over_ds这个选项没有意义,因为认证所需的信息都是在AP本地生成的,不涉及AP之间的通讯。(更新:看日志还是有区别的,ft_over_ds=1会有一条报错,虽然没有实际影响。建议还是设置ft_over_ds=0)
  5. 无论是同一 AP 还是不同 AP,它们的 5G 和 2.4G 频段之间都可以实现 802.11r 快速切换。
  6. 「Wi-Fi 魔盒」的漫游测试不是很靠谱,还是要以真实环境下 App 的实际表现为准,要知道是否进行了802.11r 快速切换,最准确的方法还是看日志。OpenWrt 在/etc/config/wirelessconfig wifi-device下增加一行option log_level ‘0’即可开启详细日志。
    802.11r快速切换的日志类似于这样:
    1
    2
    3
    4
    5
    6
    7
    8
    9
    10
    Tue Jun 11 14:56:32 2019 daemon.debug hostapd: wlan1: STA 14:d0:0d:32:1a:58 IEEE 802.11: binding station to interface 'wlan1'
    Tue Jun 11 14:56:32 2019 daemon.debug hostapd: wlan1: STA 14:d0:0d:32:1a:58 IEEE 802.11: authentication OK (FT)
    Tue Jun 11 14:56:32 2019 daemon.debug hostapd: wlan1: STA 14:d0:0d:32:1a:58 MLME: MLME-AUTHENTICATE.indication(14:d0:0d:32:1a:58, FT)
    Tue Jun 11 14:56:32 2019 daemon.debug hostapd: wlan1: STA 14:d0:0d:32:1a:58 IEEE 802.11: association OK (aid 2)
    Tue Jun 11 14:56:32 2019 daemon.info hostapd: wlan1: STA 14:d0:0d:32:1a:58 IEEE 802.11: associated (aid 2)
    Tue Jun 11 14:56:32 2019 daemon.notice hostapd: wlan1: AP-STA-CONNECTED 14:d0:0d:32:1a:58
    Tue Jun 11 14:56:32 2019 daemon.debug hostapd: wlan1: STA 14:d0:0d:32:1a:58 MLME: MLME-REASSOCIATE.indication(14:d0:0d:32:1a:58)
    Tue Jun 11 14:56:32 2019 daemon.debug hostapd: wlan1: STA 14:d0:0d:32:1a:58 IEEE 802.11: binding station to interface 'wlan1'
    Tue Jun 11 14:56:32 2019 daemon.debug hostapd: wlan1: STA 14:d0:0d:32:1a:58 WPA: event 6 notification
    Tue Jun 11 14:56:32 2019 daemon.debug hostapd: wlan1: STA 14:d0:0d:32:1a:58 WPA: FT authentication already completed - do not start 4-way handshake

References:
Koolshare
Koolshare
docs-microsoft

---- The End Thanks ----
Donate if you like the article.

0%

Wi-Fi Network Roaming

Journey
The layout of the home is strange, and the location of the router is relatively biased, so in some places, wifi cannot be covered. I want to add another WIFI router to achieve seamless roaming. This article is the knowledge point learned.

Background Knowledge

802.11 k/v/r enables devices and APs(Access Points) to take advantage of established industry standards to improve user roaming experience.
The 802.11 k/v/r protocol is implemented in software and does not involve hardware, so it needs the support of both APs and devices.

  • Advantages: Do not change hardware, only need to update Firmware to APs/devices, low cost
  • Disadvantages: Different manufacturers’ devices support the 802.11 k/v/r protocol differently, so the roaming effects are also different.

802.11 k (Neighbor Reports)

Wireless Access Points (APs) that support 802.11k are able to provide Neighbor Reports to devices. Neighbor Reports contain information about neighboring access points and allows the device to have a better understanding of its surroundings. Devices takes advantage of this capability by shortening the list of channels that the device needs to scan before finding a neighboring AP to roam to.

802.11v (BSS Transition Management Frames)

APs that support 802.11v can now direct devices to roam to another AP that it deems will provide a better WLAN experience for the device. Devices can now accept and respond to these Basic Service Set (BSS) Transition Management frames, leading to improved WLAN quality when connected to a network that supportsi 802.11v.

802.11r (Fast BSS Transition)

802.11r (Fast BSS Transition) defines the interaction details of STAs when roaming between different APs in the same mobile domain (MD), and provides a standard for fast BSS transition. The implementation of 802.11r fast roaming is:

  1. When the STA associates the APs in the MD for the first time, the master session key (MSK) obtained through 802.1x authentication is used, because the key is shared by the authenticator and the applicant, also known as the pairwise master key PMK. R1KH_ID calculates different PMK_R1 to distribute to other APs in the MD;
  2. When the STA switches APs, the STA directly uses the PMK_R1 sent to the target AP to negotiate the pairwise temporary key (PTK) and group temporary key (GTK) to shorten the roaming switching time and avoid repeating the time-consuming 802.1. x certification.

The 802.11r protocol mainly describes four parts: key management, FT initialization association, fast handover, and new information elements.

Plan of Roaming

There are AC + AP schemes, as well as the recently popular Mesh scheme.

AC + AP

This scheme relies on the AC controller.

Low-cost AC/AP solutions use culling mode for roaming. That is, after the AC issues parameters such as power / channel / password for the AP, it actively removes weak device under the AP to force the device to find the AP again.

  • Advantages: In the coverage area of APs, there is no need to wait for the device or user to actively switch APs with good signals. No matter where the device equipment is, it can be connected to the AP with the best signal quality.
  • Disadvantages: causing the device to be temporarily disconnected from the network.

The expensive AC/AP solution, in addition to the weak signal rejection mode, also has load balancing, 802.11 k/v/r protocols, and so on, so that the device can continue to network during the AP switching process.

Mesh

Seamless roaming is based on the 802.11 k/v/r protocol and automatic deployment of APs.
The advantage is that the networking and deployment are more flexible, which can be used for wireless backhaul or plugged in network cables for wired backhaul.
The disadvantage is that different device have different roaming effects, such as iPhone’s complete implementation of 802.11 k/v/r, so it has the best roaming effect. There are too many Android phone versions, some do not support the 802.11 k/v/r protocol at all, and some only support some protocols, so some mobile phones have poor roaming effects, and some have good roaming effects.

Today’s Mesh routers generally have one primary and one secondary. The primary route has some AC functions. It pushes WLAN related parameters for the secondary route through a specific protocol, eliminating the need to manually configure the secondary route.

Qualcomm Chip

The Wi-Fi SON introduced by Qualcomm is to use 802.11 k/v/r to achieve roaming.

Therefore, as long as the router is a Qualcomm solution and manufacturers have purchased Qualcomm’s roaming rights, then they can use 802.11 k/v/r to achieve seamless roaming.

For example, Netgear R7800 is a router of Qualcomm scheme. It supports 802.11 k/v.
R7800 Roaming
Two R7800s with original firmware, one is router mode, the other is in AP mode, Wifi is set to the same parameters, both are in “routing address / debug.htm”. Check 802.11k to enable seamless roaming Already.
Or other routers do the main routing and turn off WIFI. The two R7800s turn on the AP mode and turn on 802.11k to achieve seamless roaming.

Asus ACRH17, Linksys (leader) EA7500 / EA8300 / EA9000 and other high-pass routers, both can achieve seamless roaming under the original firmware.

Roaming Experience

  1. Proper RF planning and layout is the first element of seamless roaming. To ensure continuous coverage of signals, the design of overlapping areas can adapt to mobile device roaming thresholds, adjacent AP channels should be staggered, and so on.

  2. 802.11 k/v is mainly used in large-scale commercial deployment scenarios. 802.11r is only effective for 802.1x-certified enterprise networks. The PSK authentication speed in home scenarios is already very fast, so as long as you have a reasonable layout and planning, Roaming handover will basically not be disconnected. If 802.11r is supported, the roaming handover process will be almost non-perceived.

  3. End-device support for 802.11 k/v/r.

    • The iOS device triggers a roaming threshold of -70dbm. When the signal strength is greater than -65dbm, the 5G band is preferentially connected.
      When deciding on a roaming target AP, if there is currently data transmission, select an AP with a signal strength 8dbm higher than the current AP. If there is no data transmission, select an AP with 12dbm higher.
    • iPhone 4s and later devices support 802.11 k/r,iPhone 5s and later devices support 802.11v
    • macOS dosen’t support 802.11 k/r
    • Windows 10 supports 802.11 k/v if allowed by the hardware and 802.11r on 802.1x certified networks
    • Samsung supports 802.11 k/v/r since Note8.
    • The mobile phone made by china is unknown.
  4. OpenWrt only needs to set the 802.11r Fast Transition option to enable 802.11r.
    In a PSK-certified network, the ft_over_ds option is meaningless because the information required for authentication is generated locally at the AP and does not involve communication between APs. (Update: there is still a difference in looking at the log. An error will be reported for ft_over_ds = 1, although it has no practical impact. It is recommended to set ft_over_ds = 0)

  5. Whether it is the same AP or different APs, they can achieve 802.11r fast switching between 5G and 2.4G bands.

  6. The APP Wi-Fi Magic Box roaming test is not very reliable, or it depends on the actual performance of the app in the real environment. To know whether the 802.11r fast switching is performed, the most accurate method is to look at the logs. OpenWrt adds a line option log_level ‘0’ under config wifi-device in /etc/config/wireless to enable detailed logging.
    The log for 802.11r fast handoff looks like this:

    1
    2
    3
    4
    5
    6
    7
    8
    9
    10
    Tue Jun 11 14:56:32 2019 daemon.debug hostapd: wlan1: STA 14:d0:0d:32:1a:58 IEEE 802.11: binding station to interface 'wlan1'
    Tue Jun 11 14:56:32 2019 daemon.debug hostapd: wlan1: STA 14:d0:0d:32:1a:58 IEEE 802.11: authentication OK (FT)
    Tue Jun 11 14:56:32 2019 daemon.debug hostapd: wlan1: STA 14:d0:0d:32:1a:58 MLME: MLME-AUTHENTICATE.indication(14:d0:0d:32:1a:58, FT)
    Tue Jun 11 14:56:32 2019 daemon.debug hostapd: wlan1: STA 14:d0:0d:32:1a:58 IEEE 802.11: association OK (aid 2)
    Tue Jun 11 14:56:32 2019 daemon.info hostapd: wlan1: STA 14:d0:0d:32:1a:58 IEEE 802.11: associated (aid 2)
    Tue Jun 11 14:56:32 2019 daemon.notice hostapd: wlan1: AP-STA-CONNECTED 14:d0:0d:32:1a:58
    Tue Jun 11 14:56:32 2019 daemon.debug hostapd: wlan1: STA 14:d0:0d:32:1a:58 MLME: MLME-REASSOCIATE.indication(14:d0:0d:32:1a:58)
    Tue Jun 11 14:56:32 2019 daemon.debug hostapd: wlan1: STA 14:d0:0d:32:1a:58 IEEE 802.11: binding station to interface 'wlan1'
    Tue Jun 11 14:56:32 2019 daemon.debug hostapd: wlan1: STA 14:d0:0d:32:1a:58 WPA: event 6 notification
    Tue Jun 11 14:56:32 2019 daemon.debug hostapd: wlan1: STA 14:d0:0d:32:1a:58 WPA: FT authentication already completed - do not start 4-way handshake

References:
Koolshare
Koolshare
docs-microsoft

---- The End Thanks ----
Donate if you like the article.